Ancestor worship

I was admiring the wonderful effort people are making with their ancestors.
In doing so, I pondered about remembrance walls, you know the kind. Grandparents,
Parents, kids cousins…
Other than the formality of an ancestor altar, what’s the difference? I speak regularly to my family that has passed on. I smile and have fond memories…

I’m in no way trying to be disrespectful, but I wondered what others thought about it.
Blessings’
Garnet :gem:

10 Likes

My grandfather died six years ago this Yule, and whenever I have a bad day, or a hard time, or I have a problem, I talk to him. This is my first year celebrating Samhain as a witch, so I want to honor her memory with an altar. Tears still fill my eyes when I think of him. I also believe that he is my guiding spirit, because he knows how to give me signs that he is by my side when I need him most. This year I am going to honor him as he deserves, with an altar, and one of the beautiful farewell spells that I have seen here in Spells8.

Thank you and blessed be :heart:

9 Likes

@Garnet I don’t imagine there really is a difference inless you want to out out items that would be difficult to hang on a wall. If the intent is to honor and remember your ancestors, that job could be done either way!

9 Likes

@Garnet Yes! I have a gallery wall with ancestors who have passed away, and a section for older pics of the living and it’s amazing how much my kids, family and friends stand and look at it when they come to the house. I also have an ancestor altar in my basement with my other altars that I made out of my great grandmother’s cedar hope chest. I think they both have a place in a home if you have the space! :orange_heart:

10 Likes