Celebrate with me!

I am so excited! Most of you know by now that I’m a teacher and I have officially made it to summer break. I’m a veteran teacher at my school and so I have the privilege of helping to plan on our leadership team. For the last two years I have been trying to convince my school that our kids need phonics. There’s a whole bunch of research and a whole huge fight going on right now about the correct way to teach reading but phonics is a huge part of it.
Many of my intentions the last several months (honestly since I learned how to set intentions) have been about increasing my leadership ability so that I can persuade others to act in the best interest of our kids.
Yesterday I laid out an entire plan for how we could include phonics into our school within our current budget, within our daily time constraints, and how we could provide the necessary training to all of our teachers. I had research and data to back up all my claims. It was well received by my peers and my administrators, however our district literacy coach told us all that it was a waste of time and would not make a difference and she did not recommend it. I was a little disheartened and very frustrated.
When I went back today I immediately brought phonics back up to our team and told them I was prepared to go down swinging for my proposal. It’s what our kids really need. My principal stopped me and said “There’s no need for you to go down swinging, The team trusts you. We’re going with everything that you have recommended. “
I cannot put into words the joy and the relief that I feel this evening. This is going to make such a difference for so many kids!
I guess now I need to start setting intentions to make sure it really works! :rofl::rofl: (I already know it will!). I am just so grateful!

16 Likes

This is great! I’m so proud of you! Teaching right now is such a difficult profession and your love for your students comes shining through. Good job!

10 Likes