Dyslexia, a reading disorder

Kindergarten? (this is a German word, meaning that when broken down in its father language, means: kinder - children, and Garten - garden).

I started kindergarten at 6 because the cutoff date was Jan. 01 and I didn’t turn 5 until 20 Jan . So I waited a year to start school. In the long run, I liked the kids I was with more than those a year ahead of me.

Unfortunately, my brother and I were both dyslexic. And no one diagnosed it. In him, it was almost crippling and he struggled with reading during his entire life. At the time, they didn’t use the term dyslexia, kids who couldn’t read were “slow”.

I watched him struggle and knew I didn’t read any better than him and neither of us knew why. Bob stood it as long as he could and, finally, defeated, quit school at 16. My secret was in developing a great memory. If I heard it, I remembered it. I graduated with a solid ‘B’.

Higher education was a beast. I still wasn’t a great reader. The professors gave us the usual lectures and I remembered as always, remembered word for word. Then, they gave us reading enrichment. Yikes! I was in deep :poop:! I muddled along carrying a solid ‘C’. Which bothered me a lot. I was better than that!

Then I suffered from the 3 major 'D’s, Dyslexia, disillusionment, and divorce.
I’d lost 180 lbs. of ugly fat and was single again (Yea, me!).

I moved home and thank God, my mom was an angel. She found me crying and it all came out. Apparently, the schools never addressed my poor reading, and just labeled me as 'not applying myself". I got this ‘try harder’ lecture after every PTA meeting. I was trying my heart out, I just couldn’t bloody read!

Anyway, Mom and I both learned microbiology that year and we worked through my issue with numbers. I earned a B+!

By the time I sat for my nursing boards, I had learned to overcome most of my dyslexia.
Numbers were still a problem, but if I said them out loud, I remembered them. Remember, if I heard it, I remembered it?