Hello everyone, I am a newbie

Hello, I am completely new here and new to witchcraft. I have always been interested in witchcraft. I am from a community that thinks witchcraft is evil. I know it is not, and I won’t let that get in the way of wanting to be who I am meant to be. I am super happy I found this site because I had no idea where to start my learning journey.

14 Likes

Hi @sharon20! Merry meet! Welcome to the coven! So glad you are here! If you have any questions, everyone here is so helpful and friendly, so feel free to ask anyone! :slight_smile: I grew up catholic (went to catholic school, most of my family is catholic, etc.), so I can empathize with being from a community that thinks that witchcraft is evil. I am still in the broom closet with my dad’s side of the family. On the spells8 website, there’s a beginner’s course that I found very helpful for both beginners of witchcraft and people who have been practicing for a while! Again, welcome to the group! Blessed be!! :heart:

8 Likes

Hi! I am in the estarn panhandle of WV. Grew up Catholic, and am still in the “broom closet.” Most of my family would think I am being “weird” if they knew. What they dont know wont hurt me or them.

As for your journey, there three things that I recommend. One, the Spells8 courses - they give a great overview. Two - read. There are a lot of great books out there. You might try Wicca for the Solitary Practitioner by Scott Cunningham as a place to start, and others will have recommendations, too. Check out the book club for titles. And third, practice. Find little ways to incorporate the craft into your life, even if it is only stirring your morning coffee/tea/beverage of choice three times and thinking, “Blessed be.” Reading and videos and research are all a part of practicing. Do a little every day, and soon you will find yourself drawn to certain areas and will able to direct your own path. But really, there is no right or wrong way.

Welcome!

8 Likes