Hello from the arctic

I want to preface this by saying I’ve been a lurker for a few months and finally joined yesterday. Not sure if I’ll end up staying here as I am in a potential transition with my spirituality. But I wanted to introduce myself as people here seem to be so kind.

I live in the middle of Alaska with my husband, two kids (19 & 17), two cats, two rats, a poodle and snails. I am the home keeper. I am an artist, though I focus more on hand crafts over the past couple years… cross stitch, crochet, sewing, knitting.

I was born into Mormonism but it always felt off, and I’ve always been intuitive and witchy, for lack of better words. Just in tune with nature, animals, vivid dreams, believing in fairies (or wanting to), magic, etc. I’m all about symbolism and synchronicity. I’ve always loved witches, but more of the cottage in the woods with herbs hanging from the ceiling kind.

I’m all about intention, I weave it into everything. Colors, scents, thoughts, music, words. I love using candles though I’ve only had white ones. Birthday candles are fun in a pinch, lol. I don’t do high ceremony as it makes me feel uncomfortable. Probably because I wasn’t raised around it (I didn’t go to the Mormon temple, I stuck with it being more of a generic Bible school). I prefer simple and intuitive.

I’m mostly in the broom closet. My daughter loves witchy things too, we’ve talked about making a BoS together. She embraced Wicca more than I did, though neither of us are in a position to be able to do many open things aside from tarot reading, lighting candles, or enjoying nature outside. We live in a mixed spirituality home in a small town and our whole family everywhere is Mormon. We had one cousin who is Wiccan too, but she moved away.