Is it okay to self dedicate oneself without consecrating the tools

Your answers please. If it’s ok or I should rededicate myself after tool consecration

7 Likes

If you mean initiating into Wicca, that’s totally okay. I used a simple candle and a prayer to my goddess. I wish you well on your journey.

8 Likes

Thank you @praecog29 for your response. I really appreciate :pray::pray::pray:

8 Likes

Sundays are lighter on responses. Tomorrow you’ll get more ideas from other people. :slight_smile:

8 Likes

I’m not an expert, just my opinion but it depends on your level of rededication. If you’re doing a whole big circle and Thing, yes, I would consecrate my tools. If you’re doing something like @praecog29 did and just lighting a candle, no you don’t. It’s totally up to you.

8 Likes

I will speak on this matter based on my experience. I would say it is not necessary to rededicate yourself after tool consideration, however i will say by adding that it is still up to the practitioner. For me I have not done so but at the end of it all I guess it is what resonates with you.

5 Likes

Great question, Michael! You may have noticed that in the Wicca Initiation course, the Consecration of tools is on Day 6, while the Self-Dedication ritual appears on Day 7.

• The consecration of tools is meant to remove negative residue that may have been attached to the tools and objects that you will be working with.

• A self-dedication is a ritual where we let go of previous notions and baggage from our personal journey in order to start with a clean slate.

While they have similar purposes and some will prefer to do them at the same time, the self-dedication is far more personal and emotionally charged than the tool consecration.

In general there are no strict rules or order when it comes to your personal dedication and your personal working tools or altar. Follow your intuition at every step and do what feels more appropriate to you.

All the best

6 Likes

Hey there!