New Tarot Deck

Hi everyone. I got my first tarot deck today. I’ve been reading about tarot and the cards for a little time now. I’m completely new to this though, but I felt a calling for guidance. Does anyone have any advice for a beginner? Cleansing, blessing, readings, anything… :blue_heart:

12 Likes

I’m also new to tarot but i usually do a one card draw in the morning. But before I draw I meditate and imagine myself in a white circle and just ask my guides to help protect me from negative energy and help me choose the right card. Or I do the same for my 3 cards spread and I always thank my guides and deck after I’m finished. But I’m still very new to do this so hopefully someone more experienced will respond and help you a little better.

11 Likes

This is just what I do when I get a new deck… so whatever you feel called to do is definitely the way to go.

I cleanse it with smoke & as I am doing so I say a little incantation/invocation/prayer… not really sure what you would call it. It basically asks for the deck to be cleansed of all negative energies & invite in good energies for the highest good of the deck, the questions, and those that are involved with the reading. (Right now I really only read for myself, but I have helped people interpret their own readings of the cards before :smiling_face:) I place a clear quartz point or clear quartz crystal in with the deck… I keep them in pouches that I have either made or found that the decks will fit into. Then I sleep with them either beside my bed or in my pillowcase for at least a few days.

When I use the decks for my daily readings, I usually hold the deck in my hands & take 3 deep cleansing breaths focusing on the question I am asking & I have my calming music playing. As I shuffle, I continue to focus on the question until I feel it’s time to draw cards. I take the top 3 cards off & place them somewhere within the deck then draw the next 2 cards for my reading.