Arnica or Arnica Montana

*Today I want to talk about Arnica (AKA:arnica Montana, Arnicare, Arniflora)
Arnica Montana is a homeopathic topical pain relief agent that also has been shown to aide in wound healing, it’s has antiseptic, anti-inflammatory and Pain releaving properties. It contains Helenalin & > dihyrdohelenalin, these chemicals change the action of immune cells and kills bacteria. It decreases inflammation and may kill Cancer cells.
https://www.medicinenet.com/arnica_arnica_montana- topical/article.htm#which_drugs_or_supplements_interact_with_arnica_arnica_montana-topical

I’ve been working with Arnica on and off for several years and as many articles state, it’s a topical pain relief agent for treating pain from bruising, muscle aches & stiffness, & swelling. Through trial and error I totally agree.
Store bought arnica comes in a very small jar, that I used up quickly, so I decided to make my own.
after a great deal of investigation I made a recipe.
I made it into a salve, but it was too greasy & it left stains on my clothes, but did stop my pain. I nixed that because it proved too messy and I didn’t like the smell of camphor/menthol.(the essential oils I used)
So I adjusted the formula. But always starting by making arnica infused oil. Easy Peasy

DIY Arnica oil

• 1 or 2 hands full of Arnica Montana flowers (pain, bruising, muscle aches etc.)
  • 1/2 C sweet almond oil or grapeseed oil, maybe a little more to get an exact half cup of arnica infusion(Easily absorbed into skin.)

Method
*Place these 2 ingredients in a clean dry sealed glass jar.
*Set in a double boiler or a pot of water with a glass bowl
over on low for 8 – 10 hrs.
or
*Set the jar in a small crock pot of water on low and let it
steep in the heat, again 8-10 hr. When done, strain out
the arnica flowers through fine mesh or coffee filter. You
can compost flowers .

Making Arnica Lotions
Ingredients

½ C infused Arnica oil

½ C Shea butter

1 Tb glycerin (food grade)

1 Tb wax pearls