Essential Oils

I recently read that essential oils can be deadly to cats and dogs if inhaled or skin contact occurs. Does anyone have added wisdom on this topic? Is there s safe way to use essential oils with her in the house?
I have a cat and don’t want anything to happen to her of course. She’s my first baby, and I love her dearly. :yellow_heart:

11 Likes

I had the same issue when I started practicing; I wanted to use essential oils in place of incense (since I’m in an apartment and can’t create smoke). There are many conflicting articles online about which essential oils are safe to diffuse around cats. One will say lavender is safe, another will say it’s not. It was enough to make my head spin. :face_with_spiral_eyes:

I asked the vet for advice and she said:

1. When diffusing essential oils, make sure you do it in a room where the cats can easily leave.

2. Many online articles say that peppermint essential oil is bad for cats, but peppermint is in the same family as catnip, she said. One thing that she and all the articles are in agreement with is tea tree oil is very toxic to cats and can kill them. Eucalyptus and Ylang Ylang are also very poisonous. These essential oils should not be diffused at all if you have a cat.

3. Put the diffuser in a spot where your cats cannot reach it.

4. Don’t have the diffuser on for hours at time. A cat‘s sense of smell is stronger than ours, so if a room smells strongly of chamomile to us, it will smell even stronger to your cat.

5. Essential oils of any kind should never be placed directly on your cat’s fur. Essential oils are highly concentrated and can be toxic if your cat licks them off.

Just to be on the safe side, I diffuse essential oils in a room away from my cats with the door closed for only an hour a day. I like to diffuse lemon, orange, rosemary, rose, Frankincense, sandalwood, chamomile, and Jasmine.

11 Likes