Moon spells: Do they work when you can't see the moon?

I’m quite new to all of this in this life at least but I was wondering if you use the moon for spells do you need to see the moon for them to work eg: if I was making moon water

8 Likes

Good morning, Susan, and welcome to the forum! :sparkles: :heart:

The answer to your question is going to depend on who you ask. Many witches have many different types of beliefs in how their magic works, what works, and what doesn’t. :laughing: It can be quite confusing sometimes!

But with that being said, I will give you my answer to help you figure out what you know to be true based on your experiences in the future. No, I don’t believe you have to see the moon for the spell to work – or in your case to make moon water. I have made moon water with a cloudy sky before. I have made moon water on the New Moon! :new_moon: And in both of those times, the water was just as potent as if I had made it any other time.

Like seriously, I made some New Moon water while the moon was in Pisces, added some to my morning coffee the next day, and proceeded to have some revelations and emotional breakdowns around feelings that I was bottling up…so…:sweat_smile:

In any case, the short answer is no. :blush:

5 Likes

Merry meet @susan9,

Welcome to the forum, and thanks for sharing your question! :blush:

I agree with what Megan said and I take the same stance when it comes to crafting with the moon. I’ve lived in many places where bad weather is pretty much constant, and if I could only cast with the moon in sight, I’d never be able to do any moon magick at all! :sweat_smile:

I personally believe that the energy of the moon is in the air itself- whether or not your eyes can see the moon from where you’re standing, that doesn’t change the fact that the moon is up there in the sky. Feel free to make your moon water regardless of the weather! :full_moon_with_face: :jar: