Safety in pregnancy

Dear Coven Members,

I was wondering what are the things to consider while being pregnant :pregnant_woman:? I saw many internet posts question white sage smudging, I saw a few posts here about avoiding mugwort, I’m aware of essential oil/herb safety, but I was wondering if there is anything else to consider? Like things to do, things not to do, things to do differently?

Thank you in advance :pray:

Blessed Be :star2:,

8 Likes

Medical Preface → I’m not a doctor so this is advice based solely on my experiences. Always seek the help of a medical professional :smiling_face_with_three_hearts:

During pregnancy, you just want to make sure you’re being mindful of what you’re doing. There isn’t a rule or anything that says you can’t do magick or cast spells while pregnant. That’s entirely up to the individual.

As for herbs, oils, and the like? Definitely consult a licensed herbalist or doctor before ingesting anything. For example, chamommile may be an abortifacent, so you definitely don’t want to drink chamomile tea. Basically just look into the herbs you will be using or drinking.

This Wikipedia page has some interesting information on herbs/ingredients to avoid when pregnant (Abortifacient - Wikipedia)

7 Likes

Thank you @MeganB, that is so reassuring! I’ll keep these in mind :relaxed:

7 Likes

You’re welcome :stars: happy to help!

6 Likes

This is or should be part of your Grimoire but it is easy to answer your questions by looking up herbs, spices and plants, you should find all the info. you need
This is a good place to start :upside_down_face: I think I’m going to add it to my grimoire, so thanks for giving me a nudge.
https://www.motherearthliving.com/health-and-wellness/gentle-expectations#:~:text=Herbs%20to%20avoid%20during%20pregnancy%20Many%20herbs%20should,as%20interfere%20with%20the%20development%20of%20your%20baby’s.
another is: Herbs to Avoid During Pregnancy

5 Likes

Hello @Garnet, thanks for the link - this is really helpful!