Yet another Ritual Bath

here he goes again

I’m no expert. This is just how I do it.

Clean the tub. I have a jetted tub. I know, the ancients didn’t have jetted tubs. But they would’ve used one if they had it. They did use streams, and that means moving water, so using a jetted tub doesn’t ruin your ritual. Cleaning it is tricky. Yes, wipe it out. To clean the jets you could use a solution from amazon…or fill the tub, throw in four dishwasher pods and let it run for 20 minutes. Then wipe it out again. You probably won’t need to do this often, but if you’ve never done it you should.

Since I don’t take a lot of baths, this is also a time to think about cleansing negative energy from my home using sage or juniper. Gives me something to do while cleaning the tub. I also usually light a candle in a nearby room for pleasant scents, and turn on my fountain. It has little chimes that sound as they swirl around. (This was a foolish extravagance as far as purchases go, but whatever.)

Next I think about my intention for the bath (usually cleansing of negative energy in preparation for something else, but often I’ll add an additional purpose.) Then I select candle colors to support this intention and place them near the bath.

Next select herbs for my intention, usually just a pinch. Add them to a coffee filter or double folded paper towel, fold into an envelope or sachet (aren’t we fancy?), and secure with string, thread or even a staple. I also use oils and select those depending on purpose.

Run the bath, add a cup of epsom salt, a few drops of oil and your sachet (or whatever you are using). Turn on music if you like, or make yourself a cup of tea. Light your candles and hop in.

While in the bath be very mindfully observant of the feel of the water (or jets) against your skin. When I rinse my face, I imagine the hands of the God and Goddess wiping away sadness and negative energy.