Altar questions

I’m kind of new to this altar decor but I just wanted to show mines I know everyone is going to have there own differences in deciding their altar but if anyone has any pointers or guidance on what a altar should actually have in it I’ll be more then welcome to take tips :smiling_face:

13 Likes

I would say there are no rules to what goes on an altar. I have three altars that serve different purposes and therefore are set up different.

My ancestors’ altar has pictures of passed relatives, a candle, offering bowl and goblet, and a few trinkets that I either associate with them or belonged to them.

My deities’ altar(s) have a statue for each deity, rich cloths in black and red, offering bowls and goblets, candles, incense, crystals, and lots of animal bones (I work with Hades and Hel).

My working altar varies with the season. Currently I’m celebrating Yule. I have gold and red altar cloths, a yule log, fake evergreen and Holly plants (hubby is allergic and I have pets), several candles, statues for the Lady and the Lord, crystals associated with the season, cauldron, athame, and my wand. I also have elemental representations: spice herbs for fire, feather for air, bowl of sea salt for Earth, and bowl of water for water. Lastly, I have a triquetra and pentacle.

There are a few resources on Spells8 related to setting up altars:

Here are some additional resources:

5 Likes

@Amaris_Bane has given you some great information!

I personally have 2 altar setups, also for separate things. One is on my nightstand. I have a space for Brigid & Her items along with passed on loved ones & that includes fur babies.

My main altar has space for the Morrigan & I typically do any crafting or workings there.

Everyone’s altars are going to be different in setup & items.

There is also a thread: