Bos and discoveries

I decided to start a Book of Shadows that I felt would start with basic concepts and working my way through what I’ve learned about Witchcraft. As a teacher I had to organize knowledge in a way that would make sense to my students.
Do you know what I discovered? Energy is THE CORE OF WITCHCRAFT. After 1/4th of my book was filled, here are my topics: Symbols and how humans use them as powerful constructs. Energy in the year, energy in the week, day, hour, and moon. The energies in the Elementals. The 7 Hermetic Principles were of special interest. Did you know teachers are taught children manifest their own realities? We are aware of how to guide kids in this. Then I moved onto Energy work, meditation, grounding, casting a circle, etc.
I discovered (I’m sure others knew this. I’m new so it is a revelation to me.) understanding the nature of energy is necessary to understand how to effect change.
I can forsee the power in this, but I also noticed it is a lifetime exploration. This understanding requires ethics. This is not a game or just a lifestyle. You are responsible for what you create in the world.
I decided to do this BOS, and started a Mirror journal at the same time. In the Mirror journal, I reflected on what I was learning about myself and my craft. How powerful.
My stance for myself is to do no spell if results can be achieved by mundane means. I think I need lots of personal growth in order to wield power for the good of all.
My goals: grow, meditate, learn, observe, write, appreciate, connect with the natural world.
I do know you guys are doing this. I’ve always been a spiritual person, but it is less than a year since I’ve called myself a witch.
So, yah, I’m amazed at what I’m learning. Thank you all for being here.

11 Likes