How to do your magic based off moon

So I’m wondering when to start what rituals when and candle magic when I heard it’s supposed to go off the moon cycle, the day of the week. Any particular time or phase of the moon? I know it seems basic but I’m just learning and would like to get sone consistency with I think it will really help me,

Also any ideas what to put into a Ike to wear for addiction and staying present mindful, tapping into strength and willpower?

Thanks guys! Also any tips on candle magic would be great.

13 Likes

Hi! There is no one answer to this.

Genrerally, new working and beginnings are started at New Moon and celebrated at Full Moon -though not everyone does it that way. If you are trying to bring something new into your life New Moon or First Quarter are good times for this. Banishing/removing you want to do as the moon is waning.

You can also look up what planet rules the day of the week to coordinate your spells. You can even look at the hour of the day or night. Searching the days of the week on Spells8 should give you a start. The courses in general are a good place for beginners to start. They’re easy.

Rituals like Drawing Down the Moon happen at Full Moon, but there are rituals that do not. Some rituals are deity-dependent.

As for spells, if you need a spell, cast a spell. Yes there are days and times that are ideal, but if you need protection you don’t wait.

I’d say start with days of the week and also learning about what candle colors correspond to - white works for everything.

Others will chime in. Don’t be afraid to ask if you have more questions!

11 Likes

Hi bethany9 I would start here if you wanna work with moon phases :waning_gibbous_moon:Moon Magic: Spells for Every Lunar Phase – Spells8

10 Likes

Good morning, @bethany9 :wave:

@anon87969570 has given you a wonderful answer, I think! The moon phases are generally seen as something like this:

Image taken from our Moon Magick section of the Spellcasting 101 Course