Incense Resin

So, I’m new to using charcoal disks and resins for burning herbs. Is Frankincense a good all purpose scent to start with? What would you recommend so I don’t have to buy a million resins right away lol. Thanks loves. :black_heart::magic_wand:

8 Likes

I’m sure someone can help you, but I stick to, um, sticks. LOL!

5 Likes

Lol, me too for now. I purchased some charcoal disks. I believe @Susurrus told me resin helps your herbs burn slower.

5 Likes

Hi @Assyla555! Yes as long as you don’t break the resin up too much & just a bit… it will slow the burn of the incense & on the charcoal disc :hugs: Which reminds me… I need to add some to the 2 incenses I just made for Brighid & the Morrigan. So thank you! :smiling_face_with_three_hearts:

5 Likes

You’re welcome and thank you! By the way.
Do you by chance know if there’s an all purpose resin I could use that would work well with many spells/rituals/meditations so I don’t have to buy a bunch. Or are there a few you might recommend I start with?

5 Likes

For the resins… there are a couple of all-purpose substitutes that you can get:

• Frankincense can be substituted for any gum resin
  • Copal can be substituted for any gum resin

So for now, I would start with one or both of those as your resin & worry about the others as you find which incenses you will be making the most :smiling_face:

5 Likes

Thank you so much!

5 Likes

@Susurrus by the way, would you recommend I use tongs to light my charcoal disks?

6 Likes

I have the tongs, sometimes I use them, most of the time I forget because I light the edge until it starts to spark then put it on a screen over my little cauldron. It kind of depends on what I’m using the charcoal disc in or on really.

Most of the time I use the screen on my mini cauldron.

5 Likes

Wow I have both of them!! :smiling_face: :relieved:

5 Likes

Both of what?

5 Likes

@Assyla555 I believe she is saying that she has both the Frankincense & Copal resins :smiling_face: