New Here! I want to share my story and maybe get some insight. "Trigger Warning" falling of loved one

Hi my name is Ashley and I’m new to the craft. I started this journey back in April after my grandmother passed away.

My grandmother's story here (TW: descriptions of death, sickness, & dying)

My grandmother was married to my grandfather for the majority of her life. After 20 or so years of her declining mentally and physically he gave up on her and divorced her in 2018. She moved to several different nursing homes and we learned she had Parkinson’s in 2021. This is something that she most likely had since the 90s

The last nursing home she was in did not take care of her well. And with my life my kids my husband and my career on top of Covid I didn’t get to go see her much.

The home told us she wasn’t eating and that wasn’t normal she loved food and lived to eat sweets. They told us it wasn’t urgent and so a doctor never came to see her. The next week my mother had my brother call me while I was getting my lashes done and told me to go see her in the next day or so because she wasn’t getting any better. I had a very weird feeling so I told my husband that after my lashes I wanted to go see her. He told me we didn’t have time before the kids got off the bus but I had a strange feeling something wasn’t right and I needed to go see her now. I said I don’t care if I even go for 10 mins I’m going to go see her.

I walked into the home and the weirdest feeling came over me. It was dread and horror. She was I. The memory unit and that was locked down. When the doors to the memory unit opened all I smelled was urine. The strongest smell of urine I’ve ever endured. That was my first red flag. As we walked towards her room there was a mishandled baby doll sitting on top of a couch and residents wandering around no staff in sight. I joked to my husband that I felt like I was in American horror story he slightly laughed and agreed.