Question: Meaning of Fertility?

I am doing some brushing up on Imbolc. A lot of what I am reading, some of the spells and what not is in reference to fertility. I’m done having babies so I’d rather stay infertile in that respect. :baby_bottle:

The word abundance doesn’t just mean to attract money. You could be abundant in happiness, relationship, love, creativity. So could fertility could cover more than just procreation, right?

What say you…

10 Likes

I think fertility could cover a few things. I looked it up and one of the synonyms is productiveness, like fertile soil. Fertile soil is nourishing to the plants that grow in it. I am by no means an expert on the craft or words, but it did give me something to think about.

8 Likes

Greetings @LadyAuld.ofChico :blush:

That’s a really great question! I’m also not planning nor hoping to have children anytime soon (nor at all!) so I used to have the same conundrum when “fertility” popped as a spell result or correspondence for an item.

I think @Ostara gave a great answer- I agree! Although many people first think of conceiving children when they hear the word “fertility”, the truth is that that is just part of the definition of the word.

Looking at the definition of “fertile” from the Merium-Webster Dictionary, we get:

1a : producing or bearing many crops in great quantities : PRODUCTIVE fertile fields of corn and oats

b : characterized by great resourcefulness of thought or imagination : INVENTIVE a fertile mind

c : PLENTIFUL

2a(1) : capable of sustaining abundant plant growth fertile soil

(2) : affording abundant possibilities for growth or developmentdamp bathrooms are fertile ground for fungi— Consumer Reports a fertile area for research

b : capable of growing or developing a fertile egg

c(1) : capable of producing fruit fertile trees

(2)of an anther : containing pollen

(3) : developing spores or spore-bearing organs

d : capable of breeding or reproducing