Tools to get started as a baby witch

I’m new to the craft, I have been studying for a few months now. I was wondering what would be some great tools to start with and where did you find them?

9 Likes

Welcome. I think what you start with is pretty much all up to you and what your interests are and what speaks to you. I only started a few months ago and in the beginning I found some tea light candles, Incense, small glass jars, bowls, some pretty wine glasses that I use for candle holders all at the dollar store. I also put a few things that were special to me on my altar like a small butterfly and a tiny bird bath a friend made me as well as some stones I had for a long time. Since then I have purchased a few things from Amazon and my local metaphysical store.
Blessed Be!!!
Sharon

10 Likes

Merry meet @sherricka and welcome to the Infinite Roots Coven! :infinite_roots:

That’s a great question, thanks for bringing it up! :blush: Before jumping into witchy tools, I just want to start with the disclaimer that tools are not required to cast magick:

If you are new to the practice of Magic and Witchcraft, you are probably wondering: What tools do I need to cast spells? And the truth is: you don’t really need any special tools because the Magic is not in the wand, it’s in the Witch!

From Spells8: Spellcasting Tools

That being said, witchy tools can certainly be used to help enhance your magick and open up new ways of casting. They are also lots of fun to incorporate into your practice! :sparkles:

Sharon already gave some great advice, so adding to that I’d love to recommend my two current favorite tools that I use:

Tea- yes, tea! :tea: Tea Leaf Reading is a popular form of divination where all you need is loose-leaf tea (or coffee grounds) and a creative eye. Take a look at Tasseography: Tea Leaf Readings to learn the basics and start divining.