New to this community

Hi all,
My name is Maureen, but SophiaInTheChaos has been my email (and mantra) for 20 years. Sophia is the Goddess of wisdom, and when I created my email address in late summer, 2001, things felt very chaotic. I also find beauty and awe in chaos - often there is Divine Wisdom in it.
I have been a solitary witch for 30 years (which is bananas to write, actually). Scott Cunningham, Laurie Cabot, and Starhawk have been my primary influences. I spent a lot of time with their work in the mid-late 90s. I particularly enjoyed the overlap of the story of the Major Arcana and the path to self-actualization. But for all the time I’ve spent wandering around witchcraft, herbalism, philosophy, psychology, spiritual paths, and collective action I feel like I have mostly been a collector of knowledge rather than a practitioner. I have always felt like I needed more information before I start the lab portion of my training. :wink: I’m a better researcher than magician, I think. My hope is to shift that pattern and spend some time consciously with magic - which brings me to your lovely community. I have played with candle magic, food magic, magical intention setting, healing magic, and spent a lot of time with Tarot Cards. But, as a Libra with Aquarius Moon and Rising, I’m not sure I have ever had faith in my own will as much as I have a love of ideas (I have historically been drawn to Earth signs, unsurprisingly.) In my mid-40s, that is changing - I am seeking grounded, embodied strength, and action. Since 2001, I have been a devotee of Kuan Shih Yin, Bodhisattva of Compassion, Wisdom, and Unconditional Love ([She] who hears the cries of the world) and have been more drawn to Buddhism over the years. But I often find myself drawn back into the heartiness and grounding of ritual and community of witchcraft, especially from Lughnasadh to Imbolc. I particularly enjoy rituals of light in the darkness. I have recently made a more substantial acquaintance with the