The Three Aettir in The Elder Futhark

The rest of the posts I’m going to do on the Runes are going to be focusing on The Elder Futhark runic system. There are so many different systems of Runes I don’t want the posts to start getting confusing with too many different subjects. I’m still learning the Runes myself and I feel like I know more about the Elder Futhark than I do about the rest :heartpulse:

The 24 Runes of the Elder Futhark are separated into 3 different groups or Aettir (Aett for singular) Freyr/Freyas Aett

(Image Source)
Hagal/Heimdall’s Aett

(Image Source)
Tyr’s Aett

(Image Source)

I can’t find sources that agree on when the Aettir were introduced into the Runic system but it seems to be linked to the cycle of birth and death and all of the processes can happen in between these two points. I found this video on the subject that might help explain it better
The Elder Futhark Sequence

Ill also copy and paste the descriptions of each Aett from Lisa Chamberlain’s book Runes for Beginners:
Freyr’s Aett:
The runes of Freyr’s Aett speak to what is needed for basic existence on Earth, for experiencing and interacting with other humans as well as the divine, and for living a fulfilling life.

Hagal’s Aett:
The runes of Hagal’s Aett speak to the unavoidable experiences of life— disruption, change, stalled progress, and even unexpected luck. They help us navigate the more difficult aspects of our life’s path and remind us that nothing lasts forever.

Tyr’s Aett:
The runes of Tyr’s Aett speak to aspects of the dance between the visible and invisible realms, with runes directly connected to ancient deities, natural forces, and humanity itself.

I found a really good website for Rune info while researching this topic if anyone wants a deeper dive then I can provide into the Runes :heartpulse: :heartpulse: