Update on my handmade commonplace journal

I have been working on making hardcover journals for sketching and watercolor painting. When Witchy Challenge -Your Sacred Book came up, I decided to make myself a special commonplace book since I was getting near the end of my current one. Here are photos of the book in progress and my challenge entry.

Since I’m still learning bookbinding, I decided to make one without the black leather I have for the cover and use some faux crocodile fabric to cover this one.

I folded and sewed 125 pages together and covered it. Added some metal corner protectors and then divided it into 3 sections. My last book was a mix of different things but I could categorize them into 3 topics. General/self-care, nature notes, and magickal goodies. In my last book, things were all over the place and not organized. I picked three pictures for the first page of each section and added them.

For certain, some mistakes were made and I’ve learned what to not to do the next go-round.

With my fountain pens attached.

The cover page for my general section.

This starts my section on all things Magickal.

And finally, that start of my nature section.

Back cover and spine.

Now I need to get over the fear of messing it up and just start writing in it! :open_book:

19 Likes

Amazing work

9 Likes

This is absolutely stunning! :smiling_face_with_three_hearts:

9 Likes

That is simply stunning! What a wonderful skill to have. The images are captivating as well.
Thank you for sharing :kissing_heart:

9 Likes

I love your exotic skin journal it’s beautifully put together you did an amazing job all your hard work definitely paid off. :blush::heart::heart::heart:

8 Likes

Beautiful and inspirational, thank you for sharing.
Happy journaling. …

9 Likes

Looks fabulous. So creative. :sparkling_heart:

8 Likes