Brigids Cross, 1st Attempt

I decided to go out into my yard, take a short walk up the street and listen to the wind. I remembered that we have beach grass growing in our backyard. I decided to get crafty and I made a small Brigids Cross. Its my first attempt, but once I got the hang of it, it was pretty easy. I’m going to hang it over my window in my space to ward off disease and to protect my space until I can make some more for the doorways of my home.

25 Likes

Amazing!! :clap: :clap: I like the matching background too!

I’m sure they would look great hanging!

7 Likes

@Francisco it is sitting on the cover to my BOS journal. I had just finished writing in it before I posted the picture. it has the Tree of Life in the leather. It’s such a great find from Etsy. The shop was Lohman Trading I believe. They have some really nice items.

I hung it up on the window behind my bed. It looks good with the suncatcher it’s with.

6 Likes

Very nice @Susurrus! I tried to make one out of pipe cleaners this year and just about poked an eye out. :rofl:

7 Likes

It took a few attempts to not get whipped in the face with the beach grass, but I figured it out. Lol

8 Likes

That must have been Brigid testing your skills! :laughing:

But seriously, nothing says “gratitude” more than offering a handmade craft to your deities!

7 Likes

You must be much more craftier than I am @Susurrus. I’m all thumbs when it comes to that sort of thing.

8 Likes

Brigid is one of the best home deities in Celtic lore. What I love most is that she is sometimes associated with with Calleach, a crone, who rules winter, while Brigid rules spring onward. I am a crone so I resonate with Calleach, but I honor Brigid as a home deity. You do remember I am a new witch. I am practicing my knowledge. Always take what I say with a grain of salt. I try, but I may be wrong. Feedback is required for my growth. I love that you used materials on hand to make such a symbol. Thank you for sharing!

8 Likes